• Stack Curious
  • Posts
  • I can't stop thinking about how Spotify doesn't crash during New Year's Eve

I can't stop thinking about how Spotify doesn't crash during New Year's Eve

Does anyone else lie awake at night wondering how tech actually works under the hood? Last New Year's Eve, while everyone was counting down, I was thinking, "How t is Spotify handling millions of people streaming 'All I Want for Christmas Is You' at the exact same moment without imploding?"This random thought sent me down a rabbit hole. I've spent the last few months digging into tech stacks of companies like Spotify, Netflix, and Uber. It's mind-blowing how these services handle massive scale.Did you know Netflix has a team of "chaos engineers" who deliberately try to break their systems? Or that Uber completely rewrote their app a few years back to handle their insane growth?I'd love to share if anyone's interested in geeking out over this stuff together. No pressure though –What's the most interesting tech tidbit you've learned recently? I'm always hungry for more of this stuff!Check it out if you're interested: We send one Newletter per week. https://stackcurious.beehiiv.com/subscribe